April 6 - 15, 2018

Announcements RSS

Inside|Out Charlotte Comes to CPCC!

|  Posted Saturday, March 17th, 2018

Just in time for Sensoria, Inside|Out Charlotte is installing on Central Campus 10 reproductions of masterworks from the Bechtler Museum of Modern Art and the Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts + Culture, with descriptions written by CPCC Art and English students! Come walk the route during Sensoria! Map to come soon. Special thanks to instructors Angelina Oberdan and Ashley Knight and to the English and Art Departments for leading the student collaborative writing project for this.


 Frankhavemercy, "Love in Sky" (2017)

Sensoria is Three Weeks Away!

|  Posted Friday, March 16th, 2018

In three weeks, Sensoria is here, with nearly 90 arts and culture events at CPCC over 10 days from April 6 - 15. View and share the Sensoria Pocket Guide to a dozen key and evening events (and share this website too). Thanks!

Performances of Britten's WAR REQUIEM Mark History

|  Posted Monday, February 19th, 2018

The Sensoria performances of Benjamin Britten's War Requiem will mark the 100th anniversary of the end of World War I. Featuring two orchestras, mixed chorus, boys chorus, and three soloists, the scale is unprecedented for the festival, fittingly for such a momentous and beloved work: 55 years ago this May, the first release of the War Requiem quickly became the best-selling classical recording in history.

"...a masterpiece of the deepest emotional and moral depth...and an enormous contraption of musical ingenuity." - The Guardian

"Britten's work is harrowing and mournful, with its extraordinary interweaving of the traditional Requiem text and poetry by Wilfred Owen (who was killed in action by a sniper a week before the end of World War I) in a bright, bold and beautiful musical style." - NPR

125 years ago this month, Wilfred Owen finished his most famous poem, "Dulce Et Decorum Est." Nine of Owen's poems were woven by Britten into the text of his War Requiem. Students in CPCC English courses reading Wilfred Owen's poetry and Music students learning about Britten will hear the work of these great men come alive - and World History students will add cultural and emotional depth to their studies - for free (student tickets are free at the box office with student i.d.).

The War Requiem is presented by CPCC Music and UNC Charlotte's College of Arts + Architecture.