April 6 - 15, 2018

Irene Blair Honeycutt Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Literary Arts - Previous Winners


Dannye Romine Powell is the author of three collections of poetry from the University of Arkansas Press, two of which have won the Brockman-Campbell Award for the best book of poetry published by a North Carolinian in the preceding year. She is also the author of Parting the Curtains: Interviews with Southern Writers, which collects conversations with Southern writers -- Eudora Welty, William Styron, James Dickey, Pat Conroy, Lee Smith, Walker Percy among them -- about the creative process. For 17 years she served as book review editor of The Charlotte Observer, where she still writes feature stories and an occasional column. She has won fellowships in poetry from the NEA and the NC Arts Council, and her poems have appeared in a number of literary magazines, including The Paris Review, Poetry, The New Republic, Ploughshares, The Georgia Review and The Gettysburg Review.



Donald Mager was the Mott University Professor of English at Johnson C. Smith University from 1998-2004 where he is now Dean of the College of Arts and Letters. As well as a number of scholarly articles, he has published over 200 poems and translations from German, Czech and Russian. His volumes of poetry are: To Track the Wounded One, Glosses, That Which is Owed to Death, Borderings, Good Turns and The Elegance of the Ungraspable, Birth Daybook and Drive Time.  His latest book is Us Four Plus Four, an anthology of translations from eight major Soviet-era Russian poets.


Anthony S. Abbott is Professor Emeritus of English at Davidson College in Davidson, North Carolina, where he served as Department Chair from 1989 to 1996. His first novel, Leaving Maggie Hope was published in 2003 and received the Novello Literary Award and ForeWord Magazine’s Gold Award for literary fiction. Its sequel, The Three Great Secret Things, was published in 2007.  He is the author of five books of poetry, including the Pulitzer Prize nominated The Girl in the Yellow Raincoat.  His most recent book New & Selected; Poems 1989 – 2009 was published in 2009 by Lorimer Press.  Abbott is past President of the Charlotte Writers’ Club and the North Carolina Writers Network, and a past Chairman of the North Carolina Writers Conference. He currently serves as President of the North Carolina Poetry Society.  He received the Sam Ragan Award for his writing and service to the literary community of North Carolina.


Frye Gaillard is the author of more than twenty books, including Cradle of Freedom: Alabama and the Movement That Changed America, winner of the 2005 Lillian Smith Award for southern non-fiction. Gaillard's other award-winning books include The Dream Long Deferred: The Landmark Struggle for Desegregation in Charlotte, North Carolina; Watermelon Wine: The Spirit of Country Music; and If I Were a Carpenter: Twenty Years of Habitat for Humanity. During his thirty years as a journalist and writer in Charlotte, Gaillard worked as a staff writer and later southern editor at the Charlotte Observer, an editor at Novello Festival Press, and a columnist at Creative Loafing. He is now writer in residence at the University of South Alabama in Mobile.


Julie Suk is the author of four volumes of poetry, and co-editor of Bear Crossings, an Anthology of North American Poets. Her collection, The Angel of Obsession, was a winner of the University of Arkansas Poetry Competition, and a winner also of the Roanoke-Chowan Award. Suk’s most recent book The Dark Takes Aim, published by Autumn House Press, was awarded The Brockman-Campbell Award, and The Oscar Arnold Young Award. Lie Down With Me, New and Selected Poems  is forthcoming from Autumn House in the Fall of 2011. Suk’s work has appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies, including The Poetry Anthology, 1912-2002.  She is a recipient of the Bess Hokin Prize from Poetry Magazine.